Rohit Sharma Nominates for Khel Ratna

Rohit Sharma nominates for Khel Ratna

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has nominated Team India opener and limited-overs format captain Rohit Sharma for the 2020 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. At the same time, BCCI has sent the names of Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Deepti Sharma for the Arjuna Award.

 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2020

2019 was a great year for Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma. Rohit was not only the highest run scorer for India in the limited over format in the 2019 season, and the ICC declared Rohit the ODI Cricketer of the Year for 2019. Also, Rohit started his second innings of his Test career this year. Rohit scored two centuries while playing as an opener for the first time in a Test series played at home against South Africa.

Shikhar Dhawan, who holds the record for fastest Test century in a debut match, is the only batsman in the world to have won two consecutive Golden Bats (for most runs) in the ICC Champions Trophy. Dhawan is the fastest Indian batsman to reach 2000 and 3000 runs in ODIs and the second fastest Indian to score 4000 and 5000 runs in ODIs.

Ishant Sharma, the youngest Indian player to play in all three formats of the game, is currently leading the Indian fast bowling attack and has the record for most wickets by an Indian fast bowler outside Asia. Indian women’s team star all-rounder Deepti Sharma holds the record for the highest private score by an Indian player in women’s cricket and is also the only Indian spinner to take 6 ODI wickets.

Also Read: Sports: Irfan Pathan retires from all forms of cricket




Leave a Comment